Galway City Council - Proposed Conservation Works at Menlough Castle - Phase 5 and 6
Deadline
31 Jul
31 Jul 2025
Deadline
31 Jul
Conservation works at Menlough Castle over a 3-year period
Conservation works at Menlough Castle over a 3-year period
Bidder profile
Mid-sized to large firms with experience in public sector conservation projects and established quality assurance processes.
Risks & flags
- Undisclosed contract value
- Qualification gate for turnover
- Two-step tender process
Briefing
AI-generated analysis of the documents. Check the official notice and any amendments for current submission details.
1. At a glance
| Field | Detail |
|---|---|
| Buyer | Galway City Council |
| Title | Galway City Council - Proposed Conservation Works at Menlough Castle - Phase 5 and 6 |
| CPV / category | works |
| Estimated value | not disclosed |
| Per-year (if multi-year) | not stated |
| Procedure type | not stated |
| Lots | not stated |
| Location | Ireland |
| Contract length | 3 years |
| Submission deadline | 2025-07-31T11:00:00+00:00 |
| Go-live / start | not stated |
2. Scope of Work
Galway City Council ran this procurement for “Galway City Council - Proposed Conservation Works at Menlough Castle - Phase 5 and 6” as an operational contract requiring implementation and sustained service execution. The extracted pack showed qualification-stage material with references to later ITT technical depth; practical activity therefore centred on building, integrating, and operating the specified service stack with compliant reporting and handover obligations where stated. Constituent activities and named work elements in the supplied extracts:
- Where the estimated value of the contract is above €5m (Services) and €15m (Works)
- Timber formwork to be installed to support the arch
- rer shall be required to supply its Tax Clearance Access Number and Tax Reference Number to facilitate online verification of their tax status by
- The evidence required to pass this criterion is details of the relevant technicians or technical bodies upon whom the Applicant can call on in order to carry out the work or whom the Applicant can use in regards to quality control. Applicants must also provide evidence of a safety management system.
- Evidence in support of the declarations in Appendix 1 and any requirements set out above must be provided when requested by the Contracting Authority.In place of documentary evidence, Applicants may provide third party certification that their safety management system is in accordance with OHSAS 18001 or equivalent. Certified membership of Safe-T-Cert may be deemed equivalent for the purposes of this criterion.
- with the Architect, Structural Engineer and/or Services
- Employment of or Payments to Persons in the Service of the
- Completion - Maintenance Instructions
- suitable salvaged stone from existing supply on site using lime
- [25.06.26 (2076) Menlough Ph5&6 BoQ.pdf] from existing supply on site using lime Non-binding monetary references in the source were treated as context only and were not used as qualification thresholds.
3. Background & buyer context
The buyer context reflected a formal Irish public-procurement route, with pre-qualification used to control entry into the tender stage.
- Existing notches from timber floor joists to be repointed and
- Existing voussoirs to be number and record
- funded under the Community Monuments Fund under Stream 1. Location
-
- Health and Safety Policy and Organisation;
4. Eligibility & selection criteria
- Turnover requirement — — use these verbatim for insurance / turnover. If a category (insurance, turnover) has no entry here, treat it as 'not specified' for THIS tender.
- Insurance — — use these verbatim for insurance / turnover. If a category (insurance, turnover) has no entry here, treat it as 'not specified' for THIS tender.; ) Minimum indemnity limit for employer’s liability insurance €13,000,000 for any one event ; 5% of Contractor’s turnover * public liability €6,500[9] * employer’s liability €6,500[10] 0
- Certifications — not specified for this tender
- Past experience — not specified for this tender
- Personnel — not specified for this tender
- Geographic / facility constraints — not specified for this tender Additional binding lines surfaced in the deterministic extract:
- — use these verbatim for insurance / turnover. If a category (insurance, turnover) has no entry here, treat it as 'not specified' for THIS tender.
- ) Minimum indemnity limit for employer’s liability insurance €13,000,000 for any one event
- 5% of Contractor’s turnover * public liability €6,500[9] * employer’s liability €6,500[10] 0
- 5% of Contractor’s turnover * public liability €6,500[9] * employer’s liability €6,500[10]
- The professional insurance indemnity requirements are as follows: The level of cover as stated here: Minimum level of Professional Indemnity Insurance required for € 1,000,000[19] The excess as st
- ated here: Maximum permissible excess on Professional Indemnity Insurance in any one claim below which the will bear the cost is the greater amount of 2% of the Tenderer’s annual turnover, or €5,000. Cover provided on an annual aggregate
5. Award criteria & scoring
| Criterion | Weight (%) | Sub-criteria | Pass/fail threshold |
|---|---|---|---|
| ated here: Maximum permissible excess on Professional Indemnity In 2% not stated not stated | |||
| e in any one claim below which the will bear the cost is the greater amount of 2 | 2% | not stated | not stated |
| The documents indicated a staged process (qualification, then tender). Any explicit MEAT split is captured above where a numeric line was visible; otherwise it remained not specified in the provided text extract. |
6. Submission requirements
- Method statement / response document (template/page limits) — Appendix 1 questionnaire/PQQ response was required.
- CVs (page count, named roles) — not specified in extract.
- Pricing schedule (format/template) — expected at ITT stage.
- Case studies (number/value range) — client references/comparable project evidence was referenced.
- Declarations (ESPD/Bona Fides/Tax/COI) — ESPD/declaration/statement-of-confirmation language was present.
- Mandatory site visit — not specified in extract.
- Submission portal and formatting — eTenders portal and PDF electronic copies were referenced. Submission-related source lines:
- Value: not disclosed (eTenders placeholder)
- CV for the proposed Site Manager/Foreman, who must have at least 15 years building trade experience working as foreman / site manager full time including working on conservation projects involving masonry ruins and historic monuments
- CA SUPPLEMENTARY REQUIREMENTS: The minimum requirement to achieve a pass mark for prequalification is evidence of sufficient resources to carry out the scale, nature and complexity of work involved, by submitting the applicant's average annual manpower f
- This project number must correspond to the project number given in Appendix B1 List of Previous Works projects for which there is a Certifi
- This project number must correspond to the project number given in Appendix B1
- re tendered on the GCC e-tenders portal on 29 August 2024, with returns due 16 September
7. Key dates & process
| Milestone | Date |
|---|---|
| RFT issued | not specified |
| Clarification deadline | not specified |
| Mandatory site visit | not specified |
| Tender deadline (date + time) | 2025-07-31T11:00:00+00:00 |
| Expected award | not specified |
| Contract start | not specified |
| Go-live / mobilisation | not stated |
| Date surfaced in documents | 2025-07-31T11:00:00+00:00 |
| Date surfaced in documents | 2 August 2023 |
| Date surfaced in documents | 29 August 2024 |
| Date surfaced in documents | 19 July 2023 |
8. Contract terms that matter
Contract duration in the extract: 3 years. Payment cycle, SLA/KPI schedule, and penalty regime were not fully disclosed in the snippets unless listed below.
- VERIFIED PHRASES (deterministic regex extract from the documents — treat as authoritative for numerical claims)
- CA Note: Where an IPI Measure is in place and works are greater than €15m in value, the CA must select “Yes”
- Workmanship to be in accordance with BS EN12811-1:2003
- from the sides or top of the walls and within 2m of any wall should be clipped back to
- lace arrangements to complete the Works within 6 months after the termination, the Employer’s Representative will give the above certificate to
- the Works within 12 months after the termination, the Contractor’s payment under this clause
- (b) expiry of at least 21 days written notice to terminate this Tender
- e Tenderer’s current principal banker dated within the past 3 months
9. Risks, red flags & unusuals
- Qualification gate: the deterministic extract included a turnover threshold line (— use these verbatim for insurance / turnover. If a category (insurance, turnover) has no entry here, treat it as 'not specified' for THIS tender.), which can materially narrow bidder pool composition.
- Contract value was not disclosed in metadata, creating uncertainty on margin, resourcing, and financing assumptions.
- The two-step process (PQQ then ITT) shifted effort to compliance evidence early, with competitive scoring detail potentially deferred.
- Technical and contractual granularity appeared ITT-dependent, increasing ambiguity at qualification stage for non-incumbent bidders.
10. SME fit assessment
This competition looked most accessible to firms with established public-sector tender capability, documented financial capacity, and direct operational experience in the relevant service category.
- Credible bidder profile — mid-sized to large specialist with formal QA/compliance process.
- Consortium / sub-contracting — allowed or addressed in the extracts (Appendix references and reliance provisions).
- Indicative bid-prep effort — 6 to 12 working days for evidence collation, form completion, and review cycles at PQQ level.
- Pwin signal — strongest for bidders with reusable qualification artefacts, comparable references, and low-friction mobilisation capability.
11. Where to dig deeper
- Source RFT/PQQ filenames: 3.4.1-HS-Works-Contractor-v3.0-28-07-2023.docx, 25.06.26 (2076) Menlough Ph5&6 BoQ.pdf, 3.4.2-HS-PSCS-v3.0-28-07-2023.docx.
- eTenders CFT / notice reference: not specified in extract.
- Clarification contact / portal: eTenders message portal (email not surfaced in extract).
- Key attachments to prioritise: FTS-6-v1.6- Menlough Castle Ph 5&6.docx, Appendix B1 List of Previous Works projects for which there is a Certifi, Appendix B1.
This tender has been awarded
- Cunningham Civil and Marine Ltd · 07 Oct 2025
Can you bid?
Required certifications
- OHSAS 18001
- Safe-T-Cert
Public liability insurance
€6,500
Professional indemnity insurance
€1,000,000
Scoring
Most Economically Advantageous Tender
Documents (23)
20612 - Menlough Castle Drawings Phase 5 & 6 27.06.2025.pdf
5.3 MB
20612 Menlough Castle Phase 5 & 6 Drawing Register 27.06.2025.pdf
275.3 KB
2076 ph5&6.e0x
51.2 KB
23_11 GC_ML Elevs 250627.pdf
1.9 MB
23_11 MC CMF Method Statement 250626.pdf
4.4 MB
23_11 MC DR 250627.pdf
183.3 KB
23_11 PHSP MC 250627.pdf
454.6 KB
23_11_T_Site Map 250627.pdf
2.1 MB
25.06.23 (2076) Menlough Ph5&6 Preliminaries.pdf
284.3 KB
25.06.26 (2076) Menlough Ph5&6 BoQ.pdf
277.7 KB
25.06.26 (2076) Phase 5&6 BoQ.xlsX
49.8 KB
3.4.1-HS-Works-Contractor-v3.0-28-07-2023.docx
50.2 KB
3.4.2-HS-PSCS-v3.0-28-07-2023.docx
45.0 KB
AASR P4 Menlo Castle F - 2024.08.26.pdf
16.6 MB
Appendix-A-Applicants-Self-Declaration-re-Regulation-57.docx
41.1 KB
Appendix-B1-List-of-Previous-Works-Projects.docx
34.6 KB
Appendix-B2-Certificate-of-Satisfactory-Project-Execution.docx
29.3 KB
Appendix-B3-Certificate-of-Satisfactory-Delivery-of-Services.docx
28.9 KB
FTS-6-v1.6- Menlough Castle Ph 5&6.docx
60.1 KB
ITT-W4-v1.5-Menlough Castle Ph 5&6.docx
119.5 KB
PW-CF6-v1.14-19-07-2023.pdf
612.0 KB
QW-Part-2-v1.0- Menlough Castle Ph 5&6.docx
66.8 KB
QW2-Part-1-v2.0- Menlough Castle Ph 5&6.docx
190.8 KB
Original notice text
Galway City Council seeks contractors for conservation works at Menlough Castle, focusing on structural integrity and historical preservation over three years.
AI analysis updated 4 months ago
Deadline
31 Jul
Buyer
Galway City CouncilLocation
Menlough Castle, Ireland
Procedure
Open
Clarification
21 Jul 2025
eTenders ID
6046967
Ask AI
Knows this tender's documents
Example only — sign up to ask about this tender