Donegal FET Centre Drumcliff, Donegal Town, Co. Donegal, F94D28H – Upgrade and Refurbishment Works
Deadline
12 Jun
12 Jun 2026
Deadline
12 Jun
Upgrade and refurbishment of Donegal FET Centre in Drumcliff, Donegal Town.
Upgrade and refurbishment of Donegal FET Centre in Drumcliff, Donegal Town.
Bidder profile
Firms with experience in public works and educational facility upgrades, capable of meeting insurance requirements.
Risks & flags
- Price-focused award criterion
- Ambiguity in project execution
Briefing
AI-generated analysis of the documents. Check the official notice and any amendments for current submission details.
1. At a glance
| Buyer | Donegal Education and Training Board_368 |
|---|---|
| Title | Donegal FET Centre Drumcliff, Donegal Town, Co. Donegal, F94D28H – Upgrade and Refurbishment Works |
| CPV / category | not stated |
| Estimated value | not disclosed |
| Per-year | not stated |
| Procedure type | Open |
| Lots | not stated |
| Location | Donegal Town, Co. Donegal |
| Contract length | not stated |
| Submission deadline | 2026-06-04 13:00:00 |
| Go-live / start | not stated |
2. Scope of Work
The project involves upgrading and refurbishing the Donegal Further Education and Training Centre located in Drumcliff, Donegal Town. The scale of work includes significant modifications to the existing structure to enhance its functionality and energy efficiency.
- New Windows and Doors: Installation of modern, energy-efficient windows and doors to replace existing units.
- Insulation: Implementation of pumped beaded insulation to improve thermal performance.
- Mechanical and Electrical Services: Comprehensive upgrade of mechanical and electrical systems, including new wiring and containment.
- Associated Works: All necessary ancillary works to support the primary upgrades, ensuring compliance with current building standards.
- Site Presence: Contractors are required to be present on-site for a minimum of 2 days per week, aligning with scheduled site meetings.
- Training: Provision of a minimum of five days of training for two subcontractors.
- Testing and Commissioning: Conduct a minimum of four commissioning sessions, each overseen by the commissioning authority.
- Compliance: All works must adhere to specified standards, including BS EN 10255:2004 for pipework and BS EN 806 for services installation.
The project does not specify phases or sub-elements but requires a coordinated approach to integrate all components seamlessly.
3. Background & buyer context
This tender is part of a strategic initiative by the Donegal Education and Training Board to modernize educational facilities in line with national educational infrastructure goals. The refurbishment aims to enhance the learning environment and improve energy efficiency, aligning with government policies on sustainable development. The project is timely, addressing the need for updated facilities to support contemporary educational demands. There is no mention of an incumbent contractor, suggesting an open opportunity for new bidders.
4. Eligibility & selection criteria
- Turnover requirement: not specified for this tender
- Insurance:
- Professional Indemnity: Minimum €1.5 million
- Public Liability: €6.5 million
- Employer's Liability: €13 million
- Certifications: not specified for this tender
- Past experience: not specified for this tender
- Personnel: not specified for this tender
- Geographic / facility constraints: not specified for this tender
5. Award criteria & scoring
| Criterion | Weight (%) | Sub-criteria | Pass/fail thresholds |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price | 100 | Lowest price | Not specified |
The award is based solely on price, with no quality criteria specified, indicating a focus on cost-effectiveness.
6. Submission requirements
- Method statement / response document: Not specified
- CVs: Not specified
- Pricing schedule: Required, format not specified
- Case studies: Not specified
- Declarations: ESPD, Tax clearance, Conflict of Interest
- Mandatory site visit: Not specified
- Submission portal: eTenders, electronic submission required
7. Key dates & process
| Event | Date |
|---|---|
| RFT issued | Not specified |
| Clarification deadline | Not specified |
| Mandatory site visit | Not specified |
| Tender deadline | 2026-06-04 13:00:00 |
| Expected award | Not specified |
| Contract start | Not specified |
| Go-live / mobilisation | Not specified |
8. Contract terms that matter
The contract is structured under the PW-CF6 Short Public Works Contract. Payment terms are not detailed, but compliance with standard public procurement payment practices is expected. Key performance indicators are not specified, nor are liquidated damages or penalty regimes. Intellectual property ownership and sub-contracting rules are not detailed. There is no mention of a parent-company guarantee or bond requirements.
9. Risks, red flags & unusuals
The tender's focus on price as the sole award criterion may limit the quality of submissions. The absence of detailed eligibility criteria and the lack of specified project phases or timelines could lead to ambiguity in execution. The unspecified contract value and insurance requirements suggest potential barriers for smaller firms without substantial financial backing.
10. SME fit assessment
This tender is open to firms with the necessary insurance cover, particularly those experienced in public works and educational facility upgrades. The absence of detailed eligibility criteria suggests flexibility, but the focus on price may favor larger firms with economies of scale. Consortiums or sub-contracting are not explicitly mentioned, but the open procedure implies potential for collaboration. Bid preparation effort is moderate, primarily focused on pricing. The lack of an incumbent or named past winners suggests an open field, but the emphasis on price may advantage firms with cost-efficient operations.
11. Where to dig deeper
- Source RFT filename: Drumcliff- ITTW4_Open_Procedure_Short_Form_v2.0_18-11-2024.pdf
- eTenders CFT ID: Not specified
- Contact email or clarification portal: Not specified
- Important attachments: "Appendix B2 — Suitability Assessment", "Mandatory Requirements Schedule"
Can you bid?
Public liability insurance
€6,500,000
Professional indemnity insurance
€1,500,000
Named standards / methodologies
Scoring
Lowest Price
Documents (48)
2368 Mech Services Technical Spec.pdf
960.0 KB · Specification
2368_M~3.PDF
224.7 KB · Specification
25770_Drumcliff_Tender_Specification.pdf
319.7 KB · Specification
tgd-021-1a-summer-works-scheme-window-replacement-primary-and-post-primary-schools.pdf
818.2 KB · Specification
works requirements copy.docx
2.1 MB · Specification
Drumcliff- ITTW4_Open_Procedure_Short_Form_v2.0_18-11-2024.pdf
552.8 KB · RFT / Invitation to Tender
FTS-6_v1.7_06-11-2025.pdf
271.0 KB · RFT / Invitation to Tender
Letter of invite Drumcliff energy works.pdf
293.0 KB · RFT / Invitation to Tender
2368M&~1.PDF
630.9 KB · Pricing / BOQ / Schedule of Rates
2368ME~1.PDF
131.3 KB · Pricing / BOQ / Schedule of Rates
FET Centre Drumcliff PRICING DOCUMENT v2.0.xlsx
78.8 KB · Pricing / BOQ / Schedule of Rates
3.4.1-HS-Works-Contractor-v3.0-28-07-2023.docx
51.6 KB · Contract / Agreement / Terms
PW-CF6_Contract_v1.15_25-11-2025.pdf
431.0 KB · Contract / Agreement / Terms
25770- Drumcliff_Preliminary Safety & Health Plan.pdf
1.2 MB · Form / Declaration / Certificate
3.4.2-HS-PSCS-v3.0-28-07-2023.docx
47.1 KB · Form / Declaration / Certificate
Appendix-A-Applicants-Self-Declaration-re-Regulation-57 (4).docx
41.1 KB · Form / Declaration / Certificate
Appendix-B2-Certificate-of-Satisfactory-Project-Execution (2).docx
29.3 KB · Form / Declaration / Certificate
232DA9~1.PDF
1.0 MB · Drawing / Plan / Layout
2368_E~1.PDF
238.4 KB · Drawing / Plan / Layout
2368_E~2.PDF
381.2 KB · Drawing / Plan / Layout
2368_E~3.PDF
242.1 KB · Drawing / Plan / Layout
2368_M~1.PDF
383.2 KB · Drawing / Plan / Layout
2368_M~2.PDF
320.1 KB · Drawing / Plan / Layout
2368_M~4.PDF
275.3 KB · Drawing / Plan / Layout
2368DO~1.PDF
102.0 KB · Drawing / Plan / Layout
23C0E3~1.PDF
250.8 KB · Drawing / Plan / Layout
23C352~1.PDF
1.0 MB · Drawing / Plan / Layout
25770-GA-00-DOC-01-P01- DOCUMENT ISSUE SHEET.pdf
4.4 MB · Drawing / Plan / Layout
25770-GA-00-DR-A-0101-P01- EXISITING FLOOR PLANS.pdf
4.5 MB · Drawing / Plan / Layout
25770-GA-00-DR-A-0102-P01- PROPOSED GROUND FLOOR PLANS.pdf
4.5 MB · Drawing / Plan / Layout
25770-GA-00-DR-A-0103-P01- PROPOSED FIRST FLOOR PLANS.pdf
4.5 MB · Drawing / Plan / Layout
25770-GA-00-DR-A-0104-P01 - SITE PLAN 1500.pdf
4.4 MB · Drawing / Plan / Layout
25770-GA-00-DR-A-0201-P01- EXISITING GABLE ELEVATIONS.pdf
4.5 MB · Drawing / Plan / Layout
25770-GA-00-DR-A-0201-P01- EXISITNG FRONT & REAR ELEVATIONS.pdf
4.5 MB · Drawing / Plan / Layout
25770-GA-00-DR-A-0203-P01- PROPOSED FRONT ELEVATION.pdf
4.7 MB · Drawing / Plan / Layout
25770-GA-00-DR-A-0204-P01- PROPOSED GABLE ELEVATIONS.pdf
5.6 MB · Drawing / Plan / Layout
25770-GA-00-DR-A-0205-P01- PROPOSED REAR ELEVATION.pdf
4.6 MB · Drawing / Plan / Layout
25770-GA-00-DR-A-0801-P01- FENCE, GATE & KERB DETAIL.pdf
5.9 MB · Drawing / Plan / Layout
25770-GA-00-DR-A-0802-P01- DRAWING DETAILS.pdf
4.5 MB · Drawing / Plan / Layout
25770-GA-00-DR-A-0803-P01- EXTERNAL PLANT INSTALLATION.pdf
4.6 MB · Drawing / Plan / Layout
25770-GA-00-DR-A-0904-P01 -LISTED WINDOW SCHEDULE.pdf
4.4 MB · Drawing / Plan / Layout
25770-Drumcliff-Design Risk Assessment.pdf
237.8 KB · Other
25770-GA-00-DR-A-0901-P01- WINDOW SCHEDULE 1.pdf
4.5 MB · Appendix / Annex
25770-GA-00-DR-A-0902-P01 -WINDOW SCHEDULE 2.pdf
4.5 MB · Appendix / Annex
25770-GA-00-DR-A-0903-P01 - WINDOW SCHEDULE 3.pdf
4.5 MB · Appendix / Annex
Appendix-B1-List-of-Previous-Works-Projects-which-is-CEE (2).docx
34.6 KB · Appendix / Annex
QW2_Part_1_v2.2_25-11-2025.docx
195.0 KB · Tender Response Template
QW_Part_2_v1.1_18-11-2024.docx
65.7 KB · Tender Response Template
Original notice text
Donegal FET Centre Drumcliff, Donegal Town, Co. Donegal, F94D28H, Upgrade and Refurbishment Works to an existing buildings to include New Windows and Doors, pumped beaded insulation and new M and E services inclusive of all associated works.
AI analysis updated 3 months ago
Deadline
12 Jun
Location
Donegal Town, Co. Donegal
Procedure
Open
eTenders ID
8122299
Ask AI
Knows this tender's documents
Example only — sign up to ask about this tender