ODE Laser Cutter
Deadline
22 May
22 May 2026
Deadline
22 May
Supply and installation of a 12kW fibre laser cutting system at O'Donnell Engineering.
Supply and installation of a 12kW fibre laser cutting system at O'Donnell Engineering.
Bidder profile
Medium-sized firms with experience in high-power laser systems and OEM-certified engineers.
Risks & flags
- High turnover requirement
- OEM-certified engineer requirement
Briefing
AI-generated analysis of the documents. Check the official notice and any amendments for current submission details.
1. At a glance
| Buyer | Wm O'Donnell Engineering LTD |
|---|---|
| Title | ODE Laser Cutter |
| CPV / category | Scientific Equipment & Laboratory |
| Estimated value | not disclosed |
| Per-year | not stated |
| Procedure type | Open |
| Lots | Single lot |
| Location | O'Donnell Engineering premises |
| Contract length | not stated |
| Submission deadline | 15 May 2026, 14:00 |
| Go-live / start | not stated |
2. Scope of Work
The tender involves the supply, installation, testing, commissioning, operator training, and warranty support for a 12kW fibre laser cutting system at O'Donnell Engineering's premises. The contractor will deliver a turnkey solution encompassing the following activities:
- Supply and Installation: Provision of a 12kW continuous-wave fibre laser cutting system with a minimum bed size of 3,000mm x 1,500mm, equipped with a dual shuttle table for automatic pallet exchange.
- Testing and Commissioning: Conduct comprehensive testing including cut-quality trials, positional accuracy checks, and safety interlocks verification.
- Operator Training: Deliver a structured operator training programme of at least 2 days on-site.
- Warranty and Maintenance: Provide a minimum 24-month warranty on the laser source and 12 months on all other components, with a preventive maintenance schedule for the first 12 months post-warranty.
- Software and Licences: Include all necessary software licences for full machine operation, with a minimum 5-year term for at least two users.
- Compliance and Safety: Ensure the machine complies with EN ISO 11553-1 for laser safety and is enclosed to Class 1 standard.
- Fume Extraction and Ancillaries: Supply a full fume extraction system and any required chiller units.
3. Background & buyer context
This procurement is driven by O'Donnell Engineering's need to upgrade its manufacturing capabilities with a state-of-the-art laser cutting system. The tender aligns with the company's strategic objective to enhance production efficiency and maintain competitive edge in the engineering sector. The current equipment is outdated, necessitating this investment to meet growing demand and improve operational safety and precision.
4. Eligibility & selection criteria
- Turnover requirement: Minimum annual turnover of at least 2× the estimated contract value in each of the last two completed financial years.
- Insurance:
- Professional Indemnity: €1,000,000 per claim
- Public Liability: €6,500,000 per claim
- Employer's Liability: €13,000,000
- Certifications: ISO 9001:2015 or equivalent quality management certification.
- Past experience: Minimum of three (3) fibre laser cutting systems of ≥10kW supplied and installed within the last five (5) years.
- Personnel: Employ or subcontract a minimum of two (2) OEM-certified engineers.
- Geographic / facility constraints: Not specified for this tender.
5. Award criteria & scoring
| Criterion | Weight (%) | Sub-criteria | Pass/fail thresholds |
|---|---|---|---|
| Machine specification & performance | 25% | Laser power, cutting speeds, accuracy | Minimum 12kW |
| Dual shuttle table design | 5% | Cycle time, load capacity | Not specified |
| Ancillaries (chiller, filtration) | 10% | Compatibility, efficiency | Not specified |
| Software package | 10% | Features, licence terms | Not specified |
| Warranty & after-sales support | 10% | Duration, response times | Minimum 24 months |
Price/quality split: 40% price, 60% quality (MEAT).
6. Submission requirements
- Method statement / response document: No specific template, page limits not specified.
- CVs: For OEM-certified engineers, no page count specified.
- Pricing schedule: Total lump sum price excl. VAT, no named template.
- Case studies: Minimum of three (3) projects, ≥10kW systems.
- Declarations: ESPD, Bona Fides, Tax clearance, Conflict of Interest.
- Mandatory site visit: Not specified.
- Submission portal: eTenders, no specific format rules.
7. Key dates & process
| Event | Date |
|---|---|
| RFT issued | 30 April 2026 |
| Clarification deadline | Not specified |
| Tender deadline | 15 May 2026, 14:00 |
| Expected award | 21 May 2026 |
| Contract start | Not specified |
| Go-live / mobilisation | Not specified |
8. Contract terms that matter
The contract includes a minimum 24-month warranty on the laser source and 12 months on other components. Payment terms are 30 days from receipt of a valid invoice. The contractor must propose a preventive maintenance schedule for the first 12 months post-warranty. Sub-contracting is allowed, but OEM-certified engineers must be employed or subcontracted. Intellectual property rights for the software remain with the OEM.
9. Risks, red flags & unusuals
The tender requires a minimum annual turnover of at least twice the estimated contract value, which may limit the pool to larger firms. The requirement for OEM-certified engineers could favour incumbents or those with existing OEM relationships. The absence of a specified contract start or go-live date introduces uncertainty in planning and resource allocation.
10. SME fit assessment
This tender is suitable for medium-sized firms with experience in high-power laser systems and the ability to meet stringent insurance and turnover requirements. Firms must have OEM-certified engineers, either in-house or through subcontracting. Consortium bids are not explicitly mentioned, but subcontracting is allowed. Bid preparation effort is moderate, likely requiring several days to compile technical and financial submissions. The presence of an incumbent or firms with established OEM ties may influence the perceived win probability.
11. Where to dig deeper
- Source RFT filename: Eligibility_Criteria_12kW_Laser_Cutter 2.docx
- eTenders CFT ID: 7877051
- Contact email or clarification portal: Not specified
- Important attachments:
- "Eligibility Criteria"
- "Tender Evaluation Guide"
- "Mandatory Requirements Schedule"
Can you bid?
Required certifications
- ISO 9001:2015
Public liability insurance
€6,500,000
Professional indemnity insurance
€1,000,000
Named standards / methodologies
Scoring
Most Economically Advantageous Tender
Lots (1)
Documents (4)
ODE_Technical File.docx
132.8 KB · Specification
Eligibility_Criteria_12kW_Laser_Cutter 2.docx
123.7 KB · RFT / Invitation to Tender
ODE_Financial_File.docx
128.7 KB · Pricing / BOQ / Schedule of Rates
ODE_Evaluation_Guide.docx
131.1 KB · Other
Original notice text
The supply, install and commissioning of one laser cutting machine. Shipping, customs and training to be included. 12kW power 3x1.5metre cutting bed. Air cutting module Dust filter, compressor, chiller to be included. Unit to include dual shuttle tables. One year warranty minimum with below the line option for two years All software licenses to be included and to be able to view footage remotely. One year service and maintenance to be included with a below the line option for two. CE certification required. Unit must come with all covers, gaurds and fencing gaurds, Unit must be able to autocalibrate, sheet reference, have crash protection and pressure control. Cleaning tools and consumable kit to be included.
AI analysis updated 3 months, 4 weeks ago
Deadline
22 May
Location
O'Donnell Engineering premises
Procedure
Open
eTenders ID
7877051
Ask AI
Knows this tender's documents
Example only — sign up to ask about this tender